Home > Our Family > School Management Committee (Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan)

School Management Committee (Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan)

Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan (SHHK) set up its first school in 1849. Over the years, it built Chongwen Ge, Chui Eng Free School, Tao Nan School, Ai Tong School, Chong Hock Girls' School, Nan Chiau High School and Kong Hwa School.

Initially, these schools adopted prevailing China's curriculum and taught Chinese culture and values, including Analects of Confucius in Hokkien. To meet the pace of societal changes, these soon gave way to offering English Language and Mathematics in addition to the Chinese Language.

Today, the six affiliated schools:
Tao Nan School, Ai Tong School, Chong Fu Primary School, Nan Chiau High School, Nan Chiau Primary School, and Kong Hwa School have a combined enrolment of about 14 000 students and 700 staff.

They share a common set of mission and motto:


  • Provide development in the moral, cognitive, physical, social and aesthetic spheres
  • Instill a love for the nation and the community
  • Equip students with basic life skills
  • Preserve and promote Chinese language and Chinese culture.

Sincerity & Perseverance

You may wish to visit our official website at http://www.shhk.com.sg